Race Report: T-Pot Half-Ironman Somewhere

Yo,

I’m not sure if I can post directly on the website so I’ll just send this to you two clowns to put up.

This was probably the most organized race I have done.  Everything was easy from checking in to parking, etc. They had a lot of prize money, so a lot of pros showed up including Happy Days own Richie Cunningham.

PRERACE:
Port-A-Potty – great.
Blew a tube 20 mins before the race filling my tires with air because I need to have some kind of panic prior to the race.

SWIM:
The swim was great.  This was my first race using a full body (including arms) wetsuit and I definitely felt the difference. I felt light and smooth.  As usual, it took me a minute catch my breath and get into a smooth rhythm, but after that I felt great the whole swim.  It was a similar course shape to Austin (a triangle).  I stayed to the outside most of the time and managed to only kicked once and punched once which is a record low. All in all uneventful and I’ll take that every time on my swim.  31 minutes out of the water and back into Quassy Amusement Park.

T1:
Did not wear my race shirt under the wetsuit which is a mistake I won’t make again.  This was by far the worst part of my race.  I angrily shouted at my only fan to go away as I panicked trying to put that stupid shirt on.

BIKE:
As advertised, the bike was the toughest part of the course. To make it worse on those long climbs I had a squeak in my bike for some of the long climbs. And there were a lot of long descents which were fun too.  Miles 24-31 was torture, but I was able to hold on my own and happy to report that there were no disasters.  I still can’t change a flat so I just pray that I won’t be left on the side of the road somewhere crying.  This is where I was expecting to drop time from Austin and although I wasn’t flying I did a 250 which I was fine with.
And everyone favorite part , eating.  I had a mini Clif Bar, my favorite GEL (Espresso), some jelly beans and a new bottle of water at each station (about every 10 miles).  This will play a factor in the next part.

T2:
Much easier transition.  However, there were no port a potty’s in the transition area and I didn’t want to wait for one along the course so I ran to the amusement park bathroom much to the amusement of all the surrounding bystanders.  It was a little surreal and I think I frightened a couple people in the bathroom.  All and all, no big deal and I was now ready for a comfortable run.

RUN:
My legs felt great from the start and after the first couple of miles I knew I had a good run in me.  I was reeling people in and feeling good.  The run is the reason I even do these triathlons. There was no quadzilla here, but Mile 3-4 was the ‘K-Swiss mile’ which may not sound intimidating but was a pretty good hill in its own right.  I was happiest to pass a couple pro females.  Anyway, the whole way I was thinking I must be ready for Wisconsin because I could probably bang out a full marathon if need be. But there was another huge hill at 12 and someone not to far in front of me got hit by a car, so I was happy to finish at mile 13.  Ran just over 90 minutes (including the t2 bathroom spot I beleive) which is what I was shooting for.  Just over 5 hours over the race, so if I could put a shirt on I would have broken 5 is the way i think about it.

Anyway, great race and I just read that they will be having their first full in 2010 almost a year to the date of Ironman Wisconsin.  And its in your home country, OHIOOOOOOOO.
http://www.rev3tri.com/!/blog/2009-06-12-cedarPoint.html
I bet Geege would even do it Because its at Cedar Point.

The following link has some photos. Zoe has some more that I’ll send over.
http://www.backprint.com/view_user_event.asp?PID=bp%1EyFu&EVENTID=53236&PWD=&BIB=580

My team (Runner’s Edge) won the team competition which was cool.
After the 2 hour ride home it was time for 4 softball games with the Angry Beavers and a 5 mile race the next night.
As opposed to Austin where I was out of commission for a week, my legs felt great and I was able to get right back into training.

I still owe you an application and $1 but I think it’s about time you put me on the website.

Peace Brothers.

3 thoughts on “Race Report: T-Pot Half-Ironman Somewhere

  1. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something.

    I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a bit,
    but instead of that, this is fantastic blog. A fantastic
    read. I’ll definitely be back.

  2. Yes! Finally someone writes about Immigration Advicers Essex.

  3. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of
    your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content for you?
    I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write about here. Again, awesome website!

Leave a Reply

